Inspiring handcraft…

Embroidery found while travelling around Turkey

I found this beautiful piece of embroidery amongst piles and piles of traditional Turkish fabrics in a tiny shop in Konya, Turkey. The shopkeeper laughed at my choice, and over a glass of apple tea explained to me that the piece I had chosen was not Turkish at all but of Nomadic origin, probably from somewhere around Turkmenistan. The embroidery is made of many different types of threads and colours and is coming unravelled in places. This piece of fabric formed part of my inspiration for the current Obüs summer range, and inspired two of the signature prints for the range, the Nomad jersey print, and the silk Embroidery print… BTW Konya is the burial-place of the famous Sufi poet Rumi… I was there to visit his tomb which was AMAZING…

Leave a comment